Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Career & Job Hunting Resources: Job Seeking Resources

A subject guide for people interested in accessing information pertaining to job hunting, careers, and professional development.

Electronic Resources

Career Transitions

It's the only complete, self-paced application that walks job-seekers through the entire process from assessing strengths and interests, to exploring new opportunities, to ultimately improving the chances of landing a job. With Career Transitions users can build, save, retrieve and update personal career information with a career toolkit, explore current skills, occupational knowledge and interests and match them with fulfilling career paths and search job listings from around the country that meet user criteria.

 

 

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Comprehensive and up to date, this database profiles more than 2,000 of today's most exciting jobs in more than 90 industries. Fully searchable and extensively hyperlinked, Ferguson's Career Guidance Center contains in-depth job descriptions complete with job-specific resource listings, detailed industry descriptions, career resources, career preparation information (including scholarships, academic programs, and non-academic programs), and web resources. The database also includes a searchable archive of articles from Career Opportunities News, a newsletter covering the most recent trends and news in the job market. Users can access information through searches by industry skill, job level, education, or salary range as well as by popular government indexes such as the Dictionary of Occupational Titles. (This service was partially funded by the South Jersey Library Cooperative.)


Job and Career Accelerator

Job & Career Accelerator™ combines everything you need for a successful job search into one easy-to-use online application. With this innovative job-hunting system, you can: explore detailed information on over 1,000 different occupations, match your interests and skills with the career that's best for you, search over five million up-to-the-minute local and national job postings, create professional resumes and cover letters, practice and master interviewing skills, get invaluable tips and advice every step of the way—from your initial search to accepting an offer and conveniently organize and track your job-search progress all in one place.

 

LearningExpressLibrary.gif
Learning Express Library
To access from home - Click on link, click on new user, type in 08226 and your library card #(no spaces), then choose your own password.
Learning Express Library provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Click on a category to the right so that you can start on your path to success right now. Online Tests and Resources include: Academic, Advanced Placement, Basic Skills, Civil Service, College Preparation, Cosmetology, EMS, ESL, Firefighter, GED, Graduate School Entrance, Law Enforcement, Military, Nurse Aid, Real Estate, Skills Improvement Course, Teacher Certification, Technical and Career College, TOEFL Exam Preparation, United States Citizenship.

 

Professional Development Collection
Access from Home - Use library barcode
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.

 

Tutor.com
Career Resources available 24/7

Print Sources

Quick Note:
*Try looking through the classifieds of various local newspapers to get a feel for career niches in your area*

**The library also offers free computers to cardholders. Patrons may work on resumes, search for jobs or type up cover letters in our computer center.**