Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

History Resources: World History Resources

A subject guide for people interested in accessing information about history, both American and World.

E-books

Web Resources

Best of History Sites
Best of History Web Sites is an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1000 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more.

World Cultures
Global Gateway is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture. The site offers more than 80 thousand digital items. In addition, it is a portal to international research centers, collections, and other resources available at the Library of Congress and through its Web site.

 

World History Electronic Resources

Ancient History Product

Ancient and Medieval History and Culture
This comprehensive database gives a balanced, global view of the ancient world as it explores six civilizations—Africa, Egypt, Greece, Rome, Mesopotamia, and Mesoamerica. Spanning the period from the early Hominids 3 to 5 million years ago to flourishing cultures in 600 CE, this invaluable resource features entries that are fully hyperlinked and searchable within each database, offering an unprecedented wealth of information about these civilizations and their places in history.

History Reference Center
Access from Home  - Use library barcode
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 130 leading history periodicals, more than 59,640 historical documents, 50,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.  

 

World History in Context

History Resource Center: World
Access from Home  - Use library barcode
History Resource Center: World seamlessly integrates 17 reference sources from Gale, Macmillan and Scribner, along with full-text articles from over 100 academic journals. Over 1,500 primary source documents, including some native language documents with new translations, from Primary Source Microfilm Collections are included, with a high percentage that never have been available electronically in the United States before. Historical news sources, 500 maps, 1,000 images, and statistical information.

Modern History Product

Modern World History Online
World History Online is designed to adhere to the school curriculum, and content is organized by the National Standards for World History. Users will find the attractive layout, logical organization, and authoritative information unsurpassed by any online reference source. Full citations accompany each entry.

Print Resources

Print Resources