Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Poetry Subject Guide: Web Resources

A pathfinder designed to educate people about poetry.

Web Resources

Academy of American Poets - http://www.poets.org/
The site features Find a Poet - a searchable index of more than 200 poets, with biographies, photos, poems, and some sound files; National Poetry Month - Resources that include an index of major poetry publishers, periodicals, and distributors, award winners, and tipsheets on setting up programs, events, and classes; Awards & Programs - a current list of major American poetry awards with recent recipients; and Calendar of Events - searchable by poet, date, region, or type of event. Their sponsored programs include National Poetry Month (April), poetry awards, and public readings and residencies.

American Verse Project - http://www.hti.umich.edu/a/amverse/
More than 150 volumes of American verse prior to 1920 online (as of January 2001). Ongoing project of The University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative, along with the University of Michigan Press. Searchable.

Glossary of Poetic Terms
http:// www.library.utoronto.ca/utel/rp/poetterm.html
Browsed by alphabetical entries of poetic terms, this dictionary features phonetic pronunciation, cross references, and hyper-linked keywords.

The Poetry Archives - http://www.emule.com/poetry/
The Archives contain over 3700 full-text, non-copyrighted, classical poems from 145 poets, searchable by author, title, and first line. For a browsable list of authors included in the database, see Poet List.

Bartleby Verse: American & English Poetry 1250-1920 - http://www.bartleby.com/verse/
The Bartleby project has put online the complete text of the anthologies: The Oxford Book of English Verse, 1919; Yale Book of American Verse, 1919; Modern British Poetry, 1920; Modern American Poetry, 1919; The Oxford Book of English Mystical Verse, 1917; Anthology of Irish Verse, 1922; The Oxford Book of Australasian Verse, 1918; Metaphysical Lyrics & Poems of the 17th Century, 1921; and The Golden Treasury, 1921. Also the full texts of the works of more than two dozen poets from Rupert Brooke to William Butler Yeats. Searchable, and indexes include chronological, author, title, and first line.