LibGuides: Veterans Information Guide: Print and Web Resources

General Information

Veteran Affairs
https://www.va.gov/
To provide veterans the world-class benefits and services they have earned - and to do so by adhering to the highest standards of compassion, commitment, excellence, professionalism, integrity, accountability, and stewardship.

Military Connections
http://www.militaryconnections.com
This site provides information about reunions, education and loan benefits, and military news.

Military Personnel Records
http://www.archives.gov/st-louis/military-personnel
Overview of records, military record requests, frequently asked questions, and links to other websites. Located at the National Archives in St. Louis.

National Resource Directory
https://www.nrd.gov/
“An online partnership of ’shared care’ providing information on, and access to, services and resources for wounded, ill and injured service members and veterans, their families and families of the fallen, and those who support them from recovery and rehabilitation to community reintegration.”

Nationwide Graveside Locator
http://gravelocator.cem.va.gov/j2ee/servlet/NGL_v1
Search for burial locations of veterans by name, date of birth, or name of cemetery.

Veterans' Service Records
http://www.archives.gov/veterans
How to locate records, frequently asked questions, links to online collections, and two databases for finding materials, ARC and AAD, are accessible.

Local Help

Community Out Patient Clinic
1 Monro Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone: 800-461-8262
Fax: 609-898-9400

Department of Veterans Affairs, Newark Regional Office
http://www.vba.va.gov/ro/east/newrk
"The Newark VA Regional Office is one of fifty-seven stations located throughout the Nation that provides services and benefits to honorably discharged veterans of the U. S. Military and their dependents. The Newark VA Regional Office services the 600,000 veterans residing in the State of New Jersey and their dependents. The Office processes claims for Compensation and Pension, Survivors' Benefits, and Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment."

Vet Center
6601 Ventnor Ave. Suite 105, Ventnor Bldg.
Ventnor, NJ 08406
Phone: 609-487-8387
Fax: 609-487-8910
Normal working hours are 8:00am to 4:30pm Monday through Friday. In an effort to better serve the veteran and family members, upon request Vet Centers will provide services after normal work hours and/or on weekends

New Jersey County Veterans Service Offices
http://www.nj.gov/military/veterans/njguide/appendix-b.html
A listing of Veterans Services offices for each county in New Jersey.

Print Resources

The Military Advantage, 2015 Edition by Terry Howell
ISBN: 9781612518503
Publication Date: 2015-04-15
Revised and updated every year, The Military Advantage, 2015 Edition is the most reliable benefits guide for Americans who have answered the call to serve in the military. These benefits amount to billions in scholarships, educational benefits, home loan guarantees, and military discounts. The 2015 edition includes TRICARE Prime and pharmacy updates, 2015 pay and allowance rates, active duty education program changes, new Navy sea pay charts, new veteran support resources, expanded service member protection policies, and changes in service member life insurance.
The Complete Guide to Veterans' Benefits by Bruce C. Brown
ISBN: 9781601387028
Publication Date: 2014-07-21
Brown, an author who serves on the US Coast Guard, presents a guide to veterans' benefits that covers types of veterans and Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) benefits and health care; preparing to leave the military; military retirement pay, system choices, benefits, changes to pay, and retirement and discharge eligibility; health care and VA hospitals; the TRICARE health program and CHAMPVA (Civilian Health and Medical Program of the Department of Veterans Affairs); disability benefits and compensation; life insurance benefits; the home loan program; scholarships, grants, and aid; educational benefits and training programs; the post-9/11 GI Bill; assistance for homeless veterans; burial, funeral, and memorial benefits; and benefits for surviving spouses and families.
Soldier from the War Returning by Thomas Childers
ISBN: 9780618773688
Publication Date: 2009-05-13
Challenges popular misconceptions that World War II soldiers returned healthy and convinced that their service was in the world's best interest, revealing how veterans struggled with such challenges as PTSD, substance abuse, and homelessness.
For Service to Your Country by Peter S. Gaytan; Marian Wright Edelman; Dole (Foreword by); Marian Edelman Borden
ISBN: 9780806534831
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
If you're a veteran--or a veteran's family member--you know how hard it is to navigate the VA benefits maze. This definitive guide steers you through the process so that you and your family can get the benefits you're entitled to. Filled with vital information on the latest programs, here is clear, step-by-step, form-by-form advice on cutting through the red tape. And if benefits are denied, it will show you how to appeal an unfair decision.