Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Acting as both a digital gallery as well as a portal, Artcyclopedia provides a wealth of information on art movements, key figures as well as critical articles on the subject. MasterScans presents large versions of famous pieces that are available to be downloaded. Material on the site can be searched by artist, title of work or museum.
ArtNet Research Library
Sponsored by the Grove Dictionary of Art, ArtNet Research is a highly informative site that offers artist biographies, art materials and techniques and styles and movements. Each topic is listed alphabetically.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 12th to mid-19th centuries.You can conduct your visit a number of different ways, namely by browsing the collection from the alphabetic Artist Index giving basic information on artists, browsing from sorted Lists of Artists which visitors can create by setting conditions for nationality, stylistic period and time-line or selecting a tour from the Guided Tours.
The Met Collection
When The Met was founded in 1870, it owned not a single work of art. Through the combined efforts of generations of curators, researchers, and collectors, our collection has grown to represent more than 5,000 years of art from across the globe—from the first cities of the ancient world to the works of our time.
A directory of art and architecture resources. Locate museums, programs, online journals, and more.
Masters of Photography
Patrons interested in the art of photography will enjoy browsing through this site, which features biographies on many famous photographers (contemporary and older), as well as scanned images of their works
Picturing America was an project of the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) that brought masterpieces of American art into classrooms and libraries nationwide.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
From the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the timeline is ‘a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world.’ Includes thematic essays.
World Wide Arts Resources
A massive directory to a great number of sites dealing with artists, art history, museums and galleries, schools, art suppliers and related topics.
Films on Demand : Brushstrokes
Films on Demand : Air, Light, and Utopia: The Modern Movement in Architecture