Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science Resources: Physical Sciences

A subject guide for people interested in accessing information about life and physical sciences.

Electronic Resources

GreenFILE
Access from Home  - Use library barcode
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.  

Science On-line
Science Online is a curriculum-oriented database that offers a comprehensive, authoritative overview of the sciences. Diagrams, essays, definitions, and biographies are arranged by topic and contain thousands of hyperlinks that create thematic paths through the content. More than 600 experiments, covering all of the key principles of science, encourage hands-on learning. Each experiment is indexed by grade range and by subject category and contains links to definitions, essays, and diagrams. Joining a powerful search engine with broad-ranging science content, Science Online provides students, teachers, and researchers with a complete science reference solution. (This service was partially funded by the South Jersey Regional Library Cooperative.)

Science Reference Center
Access from Home  - Use library barcode
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.  

Today's Science
Drawing on major scientific journals, magazines, and newspapers in the U.S. and abroad. Covers all topics that today's students study: health, the environment, technology, life science, physical science, earth and space science. (This service was partially funded by the South Jersey Regional Library Cooperative.)

E-books

Web Resources

NIST Chemistry WebBook
NIST site provides chemical and physical property data on over 40,000 compounds.

American Institute of Physics
Gateway for news, jobs, and other physics resources. AIP is a leading STM publisher of research journals, proceedings and other scientific publications.

Physics Laws List
Laws, rules, principles, effects, paradoxes, limits, constants, experiments, & thought-experiments in physics.

Physlink.com
Physics, astronomy and science news, community, education and reference. Job board, directories, forums, chat, education reference, fun and more.

NASA
NASA Home Page with NASA News, NASA links, NASA mission schedules, and other information for all NASA audiences.

Constellations and their Stars
Information about the scientific makeup of constellations. Includes photographs.

Stephen Hawking's Universe
Stephen Hawking's Universe: The Web companion piece provides detailed explanations of the most important ideas and developments in human understanding of the universe. The Web pages include original essays by some of today's leading figures in cosmology, along with original illustrations, program descriptions, explanations of cosmological terms and theories, and brief biographies. Also, the Ask the Experts section encourages the audience to submit questions, some of which will be answered by experts in the field.

Space.com
Space.com provides information on everything Space - satellites, stars, astronomy, the Sun, planets, NASA and more.